Village of Grado
Municipality of Grado
Province of Gorizia
Friuli Venezia Giulia Region
Population: 8.222 (7.358 in the village)
Altitude centre: 2 m s.l.m.
the Municipality is part of:
Unione Carso Isonzo Adriatico
Protected natural areas:
River Isonzo Mouth Reserve
Cavanata Valley Natural Reserve
Municipality of Grado
Piazza B. Marin 4 - Grado (GO)
Tel. +39 0431 898111
the seaside village of (Gravo in Grado dialect, Grau in Friulian) and its splendid lagoon boast over 1600 years of history, still visible along the streets of the ancient roman castrum, where they reside the Paleochristian Basilica of Sant Eufemia and the Basilica of Santa Maria della Grazie. Its territory extends between the homonymous lagoon, the mouth of Isonzo and the Adriatic Sea. The town is located on the largest island and is divided into several areas and districts: Grado Vecia (the ancient city enclosed by the perimeter of the roman castrum), Borgo de Fora, Island of schiusa, Colmata, Center, Squero, Garden City, Goppion Valley - former Cavarera Valley, Grado pinewood, Primero.
In Roman times the city, known as to Aquae Gradatae, was the harbor at the service of Aquileia and the Castrum, the first for vessels from there came into the Natisone River. Grado developed around 452, when many inhabitants took refuge on the island to escape the hordes of the Huns led by Attila the Hun. The emergence of Venice as dominant center of Venetian lagoons marked but the slow decline of the island, which was aggravated by the reconstruction of the city of Aquileia (on horseback between IX and X century) and from a ruinous looting suffered in the twenties of the XI century. Grado then became a poor fishermen village and it remained in the subsequent centuries, belonging to the Dogado, the narrow tongue of land that stretched from the delta of the Po to Grado and since almost at Monfalcone: a set of lagoons, sandbanks, canals and waterways directly administered by the City of Venice and that ensured the Serenissima the direct control of a good part of the coast high-Adriatic, but without almost penetrate in the mainland. With the Treaty of Campoformio (1797) and the end of the millennial Venetian Republic, Grado became part of the domains of the house of Austria that, with the exception of the brief Napoleonic period, it retained ownership until 1918. In 1936 degree was connected to the mainland by a bridge which put an end to centuries of isolation of the island. Rapid urban expansion, accompanied by works of reclamation and containment of water, therefore has greatly expanded the dimensions of the inhabited area, which now also extends to the nearby island of Schiusa.
Enchanting scenery of unquestionable beauty and extraordinary natural wealth, the Grado lagoon extends over 90 square kilometers and comprises about 30 islands and two natural reserves, which preserve biodiversity. In addition to the greater island, are inhabited stably even the island of hatching, connected to a degree with two bridges, and to the island of Barbana.
The sea is calm and clean, the shallow water down sweetly, numerous beaches of fine sand and the immersive entertainment activities for children and adults, as well as the good kitchen, comfortable refreshment venues and the numerous facilities, make this resort very safe and protected. This attention that always able reserves for its guests causes from 27 consecutive years the location is awarded the Blue Flag for its environmental quality, a guarantee for the properties of water and services. It is an important tourist center and spa, also known as the Island of the sun and, for its particular history, First Venice.
NOTE: distances are set as the crow flies.