The castle of Policoro is also called of the Baron Berlingieri, in memory of the last noble family that owned it.
Dating back to the eighth century, the castle overlooks the picturesque Ionian coast. On the eastern tip of the ancient Greek colonies of Siris and Herakleia it is thought that the castle was built by the Basilian monks with the function of a monastery and an agricultural center and then, towards 1791, it became a noble farmhouse owned by the princess Grimaldi Serra Gerace. In 1893 the castle became the property of Baron Berlingieri of Crotone.
The main façade of the building still presents on the ground floor inscriptions placed on the architraves of the windows, important for the historical reconstruction of the building; the eighteenth-century portal surmounted by the noble coat of arms of the Berlingieri family introduces into an internal courtyard with a rectangular plan which leads to the service rooms on the ground floor, to the basement and to the monumental staircase that leads to the upper floors.