The origins of the masseria Ferragnano date back to 1500, following the liquidation by the royal court of the territory of Selva Monopolitana, referred Locorotondo was part. In 1811, under the direction of the locorotondo architect Giuseppe Campanella, were renewed the "casino" employers with the current monumental staircase, the church of 1812 and the "picturesque garden", at the bottom of which he built in 1833, a roof-belvedere from which to admire the surrounding countryside and the bell tower of the Church of San Giorgio, at that time covered with glistening blue tiles.
At the death of the last heir to the masseria Ferragnano passed at the Opera Pia Basile-Caramia, having premorto his nephew Giovannino Basile, which had left a heritage of all his goods. With the money of the Opera Pia was built the agrarian school, to educate the children of the poor farmers in the village of Locorotondo.
The Garden of the Masseria Ferragnano is a monumental Italian garden, with rectangular plan, surrounded on one side by a high wall enclosure, with two lateral inlets. There are eight flowerbeds, perfectly symmetrical, surrounded by box hedges, at the center of which there is a fountain.
Along the avenues and the garden is embellished with benches, colonnades and a pair of putti and 34 baroque stone busts that symbolize the months of the year, the seasons, the virtues and some goddesses. Make further precious garden some verses engraved on stone and marble.