The Municipal Museum of Lucignano is housed in some rooms on the ground floor of the ancient Praetorian Palace, now the Town Hall.
The main work preserved in the Museum is the great reliquary of St. Francis in silver, gilded copper and enamels with six arms on each side called the Tree of Love or Golden Tree, made between 1350 and 1476 by goldsmiths from Arezzo and Siena, one of the greatest masterpieces of Italian goldsmithing.
Particularly interesting is also the Sala della Cancelleria, ancient seat of the local court, which in the lunettes of the vault has frescoes, attributed to Sienese painters of the fifteenth century, depicting a series of illustrious figures. The museum was founded in 1924 and reopened in 1984 following a reorganization. It preserves paintings mainly of the Sienese school from the 13th to the 17th century, goldsmithery and sacred furnishings.
Among the works on display are paintings by Lippo Vanni, Bartolo di Fredi, Luca Signorelli and the Crucifixion by an unknown Sienese painter of the thirteenth century.
The museum houses the golden reliquary tree, 260 cm high, created in the 14th and 15th centuries to preserve the relics of the Franciscan saints and the Cross of Christ. A unique and unsurpassed example of medieval goldsmithing as well as other works, Bartolo di Fredi, Niccolò di Segna, Luca Signorelli's workshop, Pietro di Giovanni d'Ambrogio etc..