The most complete online resource about slow tourism and Italian villages
Join our community

Oratory of Holy Trinity and Vicars' Loggia

What to see in Arquà Petrarca, Padova, Veneto


Share

First documented in 1181, the church was very dear to Petrarch, who used to go there to pray. The Romanesque building, remodeled several times over the centuries, contains within it an altarpiece by Palma il Giovane (1544-1628) depicting La Trinità, the polyptych of Sant'Agostino, by Jacobello di Bonomo (1370) and a painting by Giovanni Battista Pellizzari entitled The City of Padua in the act of paying tribute to a martyr bishop (1610). Annexed to the oratory, the Loggia dei Vicari has recently been restored to redo the roof, demolished in 1828. Curious and suggestive was the use of glass for the trusses to support the copper roof, which let the sun's rays filter through. 'indoor.

  • Piazza San Marco, 2, Arquà Petrarca (Padova)
  • Religious location
  • Suitable for disabled people

Arquà Petrarca

Arquà Petrarca
what else do you want
to discover?
e-borghi 2019-2022 All rights reserved • 3S Comunicazione - P. IVA 08058230965
Via Achille Grandi 46, 20017, Rho (Milano) | 02 92893360