In fact, there are not one but two legends about this lake but let us take a step back in time to understand the origin.
Lake Delio, or Lake of Elio, is a lake of glacial origin whose shape has been radically changed since the construction of two containment dams in 1911. Its name probably comes from the god of the sun of Greek mythology, Helios, and from this peculiarity the legends that tell the story of the submerged village at the bottom of Lake Delio are born.
It is told that in the 4th century, during the time of Christian evangelization, Saint Silvestro went to this area trying to convert to Christianity the population of a small village that worshiped the sun god. The inhabitants of this village of warlike nature did not like the action of the holy man and accused him of mischief on their lands. The saint was driven away and fatally managed to save himself after a tough pursuit but the divine wrath broke out on the village of pagans causing a waterfall of mud and debris that submerged the small village forever.The second legend tells of a very rich town named Elio located on the shores of a small mountain lake. This place of high beauty had arid the souls of the inhabitants who were known among the surrounding towns for their arrogance and selfishness. One day a poor beggar came to the village to look for alms and hospitality, but knocking at all the doors did not get anything unless being dispelled. Awkwardly, the poor man made an additional attempt by knocking at the door of the last house that was more distant from the others from the center of the town. In this house, a woman and her daughter were preparing a soup. The man knocked and this time hospitality was granted. The woman offered the poor the soup and invited him to warm up by the fire.